Parish Council

The Parish Council consists of eleven members and is serviced by the Clerk, Malcolm Wieck (tel 01380 830256). It meets on the second Monday of each month in the Parish Hall commencing at 7.30 pm. The public are welcome to attend the meetings.


Your Parish Council is the first layer of local government with the aim of responding to local needs and engaging local people in decision making. Parish Councillors attend other bodies as community representatives to ensure that the voice of Edington is heard. The Parish Council looks at the need to provide facilities in the village for the benefit of the community and takes a view on planning proposals and surveys such that the integrity of our community is protected.”

Councillor Role(s) Contact number
Mike Swabey Chairman, Westbury Area Board and Westbury Community Area Liaison 830043
Liz Pike Vice Chairman, News contact and Village Burial Ground 830684
Malcolm Wieck Clerk 830256
Pauline Dorgan Playfield 830013
Emily Greening Highways 830248
Chris Johns Footpaths 831197
Bob King Planning 830223
Sandie Lewis  Health and Well Being 830722
Geoff Lupton Police Liaison and Neighbourhood Watch 831398
Helen O’Donoghue Civil Emergency Plan 830501
John Pollard Village Website 830441
Chloe Watts New Comers Co-ordinator 830600

The Wiltshire Councillor representing the area is Jerry Wickham, see more about Jerry by clicking on the link to the left.

Copies of the minutes from previous meetings can be found here.

The register of interests of the parish councillors can be found here.

Parish Council news

  • Best Kept Village Competition

    Best Kept Village Competition

    We are delighted that Edington came 1st in West Wiltshire in the medium village category of the Best Kept Village. We now await the result for the Wiltshire-wide round of the competition. Please help us to keep the village looking good by picking up any litter you see, by clearing up after your dog and […]Read More »
  • Parish Council News for May 2018

    Parish Council News for May 2018

    Roles for 2018 /19 were allocated at May’s meeting Chairman  Mike Swabey Vice Chairman   Liz Pike Planning liaison   Bob King Highways Emily Greening Footpaths  Chris  Johns Police liaison Neighbourhood watch, Speed watch and The Pond   Geoff Lupton Website  John Pollard Westbury Area Board and CATG    Mike Swabey Newcomers   Chloe Watts Civil emergency plan Helen O’donghue […]Read More »
  • Parish Council News for April 2018

    Parish Council News for April 2018

    A big thank you to everyone that turned out for the litter pick. The village looks much cleaner thanks to your efforts.  If anybody would like to take on a stretch of road and keep it litter free we would love to hear from you. Best Kept Village . The judging of this takes place […]Read More »
  • Edington Parish Development Plan now published

    Edington Parish Development Plan now published

    The Edington Parish Development Plan that looks to the future of the village in 2030 is now published online and can be viewed on the village website.Read More »
  • Parish Council news for March 2018

    Parish Council news for March 2018

    Annual Parish Council Meeting 23 April 7.15pm for 7.30pm start.   All are welcome the meeting will include the launch of Edington footpaths booklet. Litter Pick  postponed because of snow cover new date 14 April  9.30am church car park. Do help us  tidy up the village. B3098 Strategy   The council share your frustrations at  slow progress […]Read More »
Edington Village Wiltshire © 2018                                                                      Login                                                                     Contact Us

Our website contains links to other websites. Please note that we have no control of websites outside the domain. If you provide information to a website to which we link, we are not responsible for its protection and privacy. Our data protection policy can be found here.